Having a maternity nurse

I spent just five days with one mother and her new baby, just after they had got back home from hospital. This is what the Mum said on the last day:

“Thank you for getting me through this first week. It has been the perfect time to have a maternity nurse there to help and advise.

“I learnt how to teach the baby to latch on in the correct position and it was great to have someone to talk through all the different feeding options with. You also taught me how to get into a good feeding and sleeping routine.

“I was able to nap in the day, secure in the knowledge that the baby was being cared for. I was able to catch up on much needed sleep.

“You gave me more confidence with the baby, especially during the night.

“You taught me how to recognise the baby’s different cries.

“And I felt relaxed as you helped me to keep on top of the running of the house.”

These are just some of the reasons why people choose to have a maternity nurse during the first few weeks. The exhaustion post labour and birth can last for weeks. A maternity nurse can help relieve the worry of being so tired and trying to look after your baby. It can help you to get the baby into a good routine of eating and sleeping at the right times. And last but not least, it can be nice to have someone in the house who is totally unbiased, who can offer genuinely independent advice.

 

 

Leave a Reply

